Final Results: Round 3: 2014 Winter Endurance Series

Categories // News Blog

Final results for the South Island Tour.

Lake Brunner turned on a stunning weekend for the final round of the South Island Winter Endurance Tour (30.8.14). 

With picture perfect views and a balmy 16 degree day, 20 riders competed in the event. 

First up was the ski race... a 45 minute race with one compulsory fuel stop.  7 riders started... 5 finished. Line honours

went to Mark Bainbridge followed by Daniel Jephson (1st Stock boat home) and David Gerring.

In the Runabout event competitors raced in 2 X 45 minute races. With calm flat water  and a large open course it was

always going to be a test to find the fastest reliable boat.  Nathan Maclure looked to have it in the bag with his open

seadoo miles faster than the opposition... sadly a stone/prop incident while refuelling coupled with a untimely engine

failure on the last lap ruled him out... but did secure with the ‘Dick of the Tour Trophy’ again!!!   Overall honours went

to Chris Farnley with 2nd place getter Cole Askew close behind (also being 1st Stock Boat home). 3rd Place went to

Callum Farnell.  1st Teams entry home was Craig Flewellen and Robin Oakley while Grant Wilson took out Naturally Aspirated.

Following the race events the Canterbury Jet Sports Club hosted a Poker Run.  23 riders on a variety of skis sprinted around

the Lake, figuring out clues as to where the 5 card points were located.  Returning with sealed envelopes it was a tense

wait to see who had the best hand.  A great night was had in the local Moana Pub followed up in the Dermotts bach untill

the wee hours.


Overall Tour Points

Pole 750cc

1st Brett Doherty


Pole Open

1st Daniel Jephson (1st Stock Boat)

2nd Daryl Dunbar

3rd Mark Bainbridge

4th David Gerring

5th Gary Moodie

6th Nick Mantell

7th Marshall Brown

8th Cole Askew


Runabout Teams

1st Mackay/Sharpe

2nd Flewellen/Oakley

3rd Curtis/Chappel

4th Webby/Wazza

5th Farnell/Lemon

6th Tomlinson/Ward


Naturally Aspirated

1st Craig Flewellen

2nd Charlie Lamborne

3rd Grant Wilson

4th Larry Martin

5th Nick Magill


Runabout Open

1st Chris Farnley

2nd Cole Askew (1st Stock Boat)

3rd Daniel Curtis

4th Nathan Maclure

5th Andre Mackie

6th Carrick Broadley

7th Callum Farnell

8th Dan Smith

9th Chris Kennedy

10th Greg Johns

11th Hayley Keen

12th Mike Chappell

13th Steve Mallinson  


Lisa Dermott